Please login using any of the following providers:

Romeo named season MVP - UAAP Season 76

Romeo named season MVP

By Anthony Divinagracia Posted Oct 5th 2013

Romeo, who averaged 22.2 points, 6.1 rebounds, and 3.9 assists a game, officially raised the MVP trophy with much to look forward to next season.

Far Eastern University (FEU) spitfire Terrence Romeo officially joined the ranks of the league’s best on Saturday as he raised the Most Valuable Player trophy to lead the elite cast of awardees in the 76th UAAP basketball tournament.

Romeo, who averaged 22.2 points, 6.1 rebounds, and 3.9 assists a game, beat two-time MVP Ray Parks of National University for the league’s top individual award by compiling 75.28.57 Statistical Points at the end of the double round-robin eliminations.

The fourth year combo guard was also named to the Mythical Five with Parks, University of Santo Tomas (UST)’s Karim Abdul, Roi Sumang of University of the East (UE), and De La Salle University rookie Jason Perkins.

“Masaya ako na makuha yung ganitong award. Hindi lahat nabibigyan ng chance (para makuha ang MVP award). Iniisp ko lang nagbubunga yung hardwork ko” said Romeo, who also took home the Jollibee Champ of the Season and PS Bank Maasahan Player of the Season plums.

With the award, Romeo became the third guard in league history to be hailed MVP, alongside fellow Tamaraws Johnny Abarrientos and RR Garcia.

Abdul likewise received the Big Man of the Season citation while Teng bagged the Game Changing Player of the Season.

La Salle’s Arnoled Van Opstal was adjudged Most Improved Player while University of the Philippines newcomer Kyles Lao received the Rookie of the Year honors.

Meanwhile, Thirdy Ravena of Ateneo High School romped away with the juniors MVP award on top of a Mythical Five spot which also include NU’s Hubert Can, Anthony Dyke, Paul Cauilan and Rainer Quinga of Adamson University.

UST’s Aaron Reyes was the juniors Rookie of the Year.

Earlier, FEU veteran Camille Sambile matched Romeo’s feat by emerging as the women’s MVP.

Sambile also figured in the Mythical Five together with UST’s Lore Rivera, NU’s Afril Bernardino, La Salle’s Ara Abaca, and Ateneo’s Danica Jose.

Love Joy Sto. Domingo of UE grabbed the women’s Rookie of the Year diadem.