Please login using any of the following providers:

Ravena lifts MVP award - UAAP Season 76

Ravena lifts MVP award

By Anthony Divinagracia Posted Oct 8th 2014

Ravena copped the league' top individual award by tallying 77.64 total statistical points despite a heartbreaking bid to enter the Finals.

Ateneo de Manila University star Kiefer Ravena was officially hailed the season's best on Wednesday, receiving the much covered men's MVP plum in the UAAP awards at the Araneta Coliseum.

Ravena copped the league' top individual award by tallying 77.64 total statistical points to become the fifth MVP out of Ateneo, behind Jun Reyes (1987-1988), Rich Alvarez (2000-2001), Enrico Villanueva (2002), and Rabeh Al-Hussaini (2008).

"The Phenom" led the season in scoring, averaging 21.2 points a game. He is also no.1 in assists with 5.6 dishes a contest.

He also bannered the Mythical Five composed of De La Salle University's Jeron Teng, Ateneo's Chris Newsome, Far Eastern University (FEU)'s Mac Belo, and University of Santo Tomas' Karim Abdul.

The Season 77 MVP was also named Master Gameface Player of the Season, RCBC Savings Bank Life Changing Player of the Season, Jollibee Champ of the Season, and PS BANKABLE Player of the Season. Ravena and Teng shared the Biogesic Fast Fizz Players of the Season award.

National University (NU)'s Troy Rosario was adjudged Most Improved Player while Arvin Tolentino of Ateneo took home Rookie of the Year honors. Abdul and University of East's Charles Mammie were co-awarded the KFC Double Double Delivery of the Season.

Women’s champion NU also got a piece of the spotlight as Afril Bernardino snared the MVP diadem while teammate Ria Nabalan was picked top rookie.

Bernardino joined teammates Gemma Miranda and Shelley Gupilan, UST’s Lore Rivera and Ateneo’s Danica Therese Jose in the Mythical Five.

FEU meanwhile won the Avida “Hit it Home” Shoot for your School Promo with P500,000 in cash to fund its chosen sports program.